Scroll to top

Aalto University

Aalto University resulted from merger of Helsinki School of Economics, Helsinki University of Technology and the University of Art and Design Helsinki in 2010. Aalto University is organized in 6 Schools: School of Business, School of Arts, Design and Architecture (ARTS), School of Engineering, School of Chemical Technology, School of Science and School of Electrical Engineering.

Aalto contributes to address the most pressing societal challenges by combining cutting-edge science with design expertise and business thinking and we are committed to building a sustainable society driven by innovation and entrepreneurship. To this end, Aalto strategy encourages the adoption of transdisciplinary mindset by supporting collaboration between the different schools, as well as through the organization transdisciplinary courses that bring together and combine expertise of students from the different schools.

At Aalto ARTS theory meets practice, we focus on learning through practical assignments and projects. Students create human-centred environments for living, wellbeing, learning and working. Our focus in research is in design, digital media, audiovisual communication, art, visual culture, architectural solutions of wellbeing and community and city planning.